A Brief History of the Holmwoods

One of  the Dorking Local History Groups greatest supporters and contributors Kathy Atherton has extensively researched the villages of North, Mid and South Holmwood.  The Common surrounding it; is owned and managed by the National Trust.

Her website is a wealth of information on this beautiful area south of Dorking. Isolated from the surrounding villages and towns; the area remained undeveloped until the Turnpike was built in 1755. In the 1830s wealthy metropolitans began to buy farmland on the fringes of the Common.

Kathy’s book on St Mary Magdalene, the Holmwood; tells the story of a seemingly unremarkable village church. Discover the memorials to Prince Regent’s divorce lawyer, the Victorian admiral who fell out with the vicar, the engineer of London’s bridges, the Balliol Bugger, the 1970s porn star and more who have left their mark on the church and churchyard.

 Visit Kathy’s website for more information on this lovely area.

%d bloggers like this: